AIEA Awards

AIEA recognizes contributions to the field of international education leadership through four awards presented at the Annual Conference each year: the  Charles Klasek Award, the Harold Josephson Award for Professional Promise in International Education, the Timothy J. Rutenber Award, and the Innovation Award in Internationalization. 

The Call for Award Nominations goes out to AIEA members in May, with a deadline of October 1 for all nominations. 


2017 Recipient: Barbara Hill 
2017 Klasek Award Recipient Press Release (.pdf) 

Each year AIEA presents the Charles Klasek Award at the Annual Conference. "Chuck" Klasek was a founding member of AIEA from Southern Illiniois University at Carbondale and served as its third president. In addition to being a real leader in the founding of AIEA, Chuck was an excellent example of an effective international education administrator. He took on many tasks within AIEA including, in 1992, the editing and publication of Bridges to the Future: Strategies for Internationalizing Higher Education. When Chuck died, the Executive Committee felt that a fitting tribute to his outstanding service to AIEA and to the field of International Education Administration would be to present an annual award in his name. The single criterion for the award is that the recipient should have given long-term and outstanding service to the field of International Education.

Pictured: 2016-2017 AIEA President Gil Latz, 2015-2016 AIEA President Jenifer Cushman, 2017 Klasek Award Recipient Barbara Hill, and 2017-2018 AIEA President Hilary Kahn

Learn more... 


2017 Recipients: Laura Burbano and Brianne Holden
2017 Harold Josephson Award Press Release (.pdf)

Pictured: 2017 Josephson Award Recipients Laura Burbano (L) and Brianne Holden (R)

Each year, AIEA presents Harold Josephson Awards to deserving graduate students who are making a significant contribution to the field of international education. The awardee may be at the masters or doctoral level, in any disciplinary area. The award recognizes emerging leadership in international education, as evidenced by the students' graduate study, involvement in international education initiatives, research related to international education, and/or other relevant contributions.

This award was established to honor the memory of Dr. Josephson, a long-time leader in AIEA and Assoc. Vice Chancellor of International Programs at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, who died in 1998. The award includes a $1,000 travel grant to attend the annual conference of AIEA, complimentary conference registration, and an opportunity for the winner to report on her/his contribution to international education to the conference attendees. The recipients of the Harold Josephson Award will also be included in the conference program and recognized during the annual conference.

Pictured: 2017 Josephson Award Recipients Laura Burbano (L) and Brianne Holden (R) 

Learn more...


2017 Recipient: Terence Miller
2017 Timothy J. Rutenber Award Press Release (.pdf)

The Timothy J. Rutenber Award is an award established to honor AIEA members who have rendered long-term and outstanding service to the Association. This occasional award is named for the late Timothy J. Rutenber, who served as Director of the Secretariat and Treasurer of AIEA until his death in 2004. An associate member of AIEA since 1992, Rutenber was an outstanding manager of the day-to-day affairs of AIEA and a wise steward of the Association's resources. His work on behalf of AIEA epitomizes the ideal of service excellence. In his name, awardees will be recognized at the Annual Conference for truly exceptional service of long duration to AIEA. To be eligible, nominees must be current AIEA members and have been actively involved in AIEA for more than five years.

Pictured (R-L):  2015-2016 AIEA President Jenifer Cushman, 2017 Rutenber Award Recipient Terence Miller, 2016-2017 AIEA President Gil Latz, and 2017-2018 AIEA President Hilary Kahn 

Learn more...


2017 Recipient: Kennesaw State University's "Around the World in 80 Days" Initiative
2017 Innovation Award in Internationalization Press Release (.pdf)

As colleges and universities around the US come to increasingly recognize the value and importance of pursuing internationalization as a distinct and intentional project, the need grows for models regarding various aspects of this work. Many SIOs work tirelessly, with little institutional support, but with passion, vision and commitment to pursue internationalization in ways to best meet institutional needs.  Some of this work is not only effective, but outstanding, and worthy of emulation by other SIOs who are either new to the field or value new approaches to the work they do.  

In 2015, AIEA selected the inaugural Innovation Award in Internationalization that highlights exceptional programs, projects, or initiatives aimed at advancing internationalization and directed by SIOs on their respective campuses.  The categories that can be used for these programs are based on the American Council on Education’s six elements of comprehensive internationalization (Articulated Institutional Commitment; Administrative Structure and Staffing; Curriculum; Faculty Policies and Practices; Student Mobility; Collaboration and Partnerships).

Pictured: Lance Askildson (R) and Iyonka Strawn-Valcy (L) accept the 2017 Innovation Award on behalf of Kennesaw State University.

Learn more...